MINUTES OF THE SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR BOARD MEETING April 17, 2017 6:30 P.M.

The Grand Saline ISD Board of Trustees met in a regular meeting this date. President Rodney Easley called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. stating that a quorum was present and the meeting had been duly called and posted in the time and manner required by law.

Board members present included President Rodney Easley, Vice President Matt Strickland, Secretary Micah Lowe, Jeremiah Carnes, Paul Moreno, and Loyd Nations. Eddie Paul Stanley arrived late.

The invocation was led by Loyd Nations followed by the pledge of allegiance.

There were no comments from the public.

Recognition: Recipients of the Indian Award for March 2017 were Hudson Jacobs from the Elementary School, Shelby Beaird from the Intermediate School, Calistie Norris from the Middle School, and Morgan Cannon from the High School.

Reports included: (1) Financial by Laura Griffith, (2) Maintenance and Facilities by Micah Lewis, and (3) Superintendent's Report by Micah Lewis.

Consent agenda items included: (1) Minutes of the March 27, 2017, regular board meeting, (2) Financial report for March 2017, and (3) Certification of Superintendent Lewis to the Regional Advisory Committee. A motion was made by Matt Strickland and seconded by Jeremiah Carnes to approve the consent agenda items as presented. The motion carried 6 to 0.

A motion was made by Jeremiah Carnes and seconded by Matt Strickland to approve an extension of the depository contract with Austin Bank for an additional two year period, September 1, 2017 through August 31, 2019. The motion carried 6 to 0.

No action was taken to nominate a representative to fill the Appraisal District Board of Directors vacancy.

The board adjourned into executive session April 17, 2017, at 6:58 p.m.

The board entered back into open session April 17, 2017, at 7:20 p.m.

A motion was made by Paul Moreno that the term contract of Mr. Brad L. Swain be proposed for non-renewal based on the recommendation of the Superintendent. The motion was seconded by Matt Strickland and carried 5 to 0 with Rodney Easley abstaining from voting.

A motion was made by Jeremiah Carnes that the Superintendent be authorized and directed to deliver or send the notice of proposed nonrenewal to Mr. Swain in accordance with Board policy

and state law. The motion was seconded by Paul Moreno and carried 5 to 0 with Rodney Easley abstaining from the vote.

The board entered back into executive session April 17, 2017, at 7:22 p.m.

The board entered back into open session April 17, 2017, at 8:38 p.m.

Eddie Paul Stanley arrived at 7:37 p.m.

A motion was made by Matt Strickland to accept the resignations of Deona Cox, Tracy Browning, Ted Mitchell, and Rachel Beasley as presented by the Superintendent. The motion was seconded by Eddie Paul Stanley and carried 7 to 0.

A motion was made by Eddie Paul Stanley to hire Tracy Browning, Evelin Caraway, and Monte Regester as classroom teachers as presented by the Superintendent. The motion was seconded by Paul Moreno and carried 7 to 0.

With no further business a motion was made by Eddie Paul Stanley to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Loyd Nations and carried 7 to 0. Rodney Easley declared the meeting adjourned April 17, 2017, at 8:40 p.m.

Rodney Easley, President

Micah Lowe, Secretary