MINUTES OF THE SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR BOARD MEETING May 21, 2018 6:30 P.M.

The Grand Saline ISD Board of Trustees met in a regular meeting this date. Vice President Matt Strickland called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. stating that a quorum was present and the meeting had been duly called and posted in the time and manner required by law.

Board members present included: Vice President Matt Strickland, Secretary Micah Lowe, Bear Brown, Jeremiah Carnes, Paul Moreno, and Eddie Paul Stanley. Absent: President Rodney Easley

The invocation was led by Eddie Paul Stanley followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

There were no comments from the public.

Recognition: Recipients of the Indian Award for May 2018, were Madison Reynolds from the Elementary School, Ethan Oakley from the Intermediate School, Gabby Lewis from the Middle School, and Shayne Carnes from the High School.

Reports: (1) Financial by Laura Griffith; (2) Maintenance/Facilities by Pat O'Donnell (3) SHAC Report by Debbie Morse; (4) STARR – Grades 5 and 8 results by Debby Morse; (5)Technology Report by Lance Caffey; (6) 2017-2018 Comprehensive Needs Assessment Survey Summaries by Debby Morse (7) Superintendent's Report by Micah Lewis

The Statement of Officer was signed by newly elected board members Micah Lowe, Paul Moreno, and Eddie Paul Stanley. The Oath of Office was administered by Notary Public Cindy Gibson.

Reorganization of the Board began with Jeremiah Carnes nominating Matt Strickland for Board President. Vice-President Matt Strickland surrendered his responsibilities to Secretary Micah Lowe. Eddie Paul Stanley moved that nominations be closed followed by a second from Bear Brown. Matt Strickland was elected President with a vote of 5 to 0 with Matt Strickland abstaining from voting. Matt Strickland resumed the meeting as President.

Bear Brown nominated Micah Lowe for Vice President for 2018-2019. Eddie Paul Stanley made a motion that nominations cease which was seconded by Jeremiah Carnes. Micah Lowe abstained from voting and was elected Vice President by a vote of 5 to 0.

Paul Moreno nominated Eddie Paul Stanley for Secretary for 2018-2019. Jeremiah Carnes made a motion that nominations cease which was seconded by Micah Lowe. Eddie Paul Stanley abstained from voting and was elected Secretary by a vote of 5 to 0

Consent agenda items: (1) Minutes of the April 16, 2018, regular board meeting (2) the financial report for April 2018. A motion was made by Micah Lowe and seconded by Bear Brown to approve the consent agenda items as presented. The motion carried 6 to 0.

A motion was made by Micah Lowe and seconded by Jeremiah Carnes to Accept the Winning Bid Submitted by TIB – The Independent Bankers Bank and Adopt the Resolution Authorizing the Issuance of Maintenance Tax Notes, Series 2018. The motion carried 6 to 0

The first reading of Proposed Revisions 05/0/2018 affecting (LOCAL) Policies FNF (LOCAL): Student Rights and Responsibilities – Interrogations and Searches

A motion was by Jeremiah Carnes and seconded by Paul Moreno to adopt a Resolution for Alternative Graduation Requirements (EIF). The motion passed 6 to 0.

A motion was made by Paul Moreno and seconded by Bear Brown to give Superintendent Micah Lewis authority to hire professional personnel throughout August 2018. The motion carried 6:0.

A motion was made by Eddie Paul Stanley and seconded by Paul Moreno to select Texana Land & Asphalt, Inc to complete the 2018 Parking Lot Project and delegate to the Superintendent the authority to negotiate the final terms and conditions of the project and execute the same on behalf of the district. The motion carried 6 to 0.

A motion was made by Eddie Paul Stanley and seconded by Jeremiah Carnes to approve the Greenhouse Project and delegate to the Superintendent the authority to negotiate the final terms and conditions of the project and execute the same on behalf of the district. The motion carried 6 to 0.

The board adjourned into executive session May 21, 2018, at 8:06 p.m.

The board reconvened into open session May 21, 2018, at 9:41 p.m.

A motion was made by Eddie Paul Stanley and seconded by Paul Moreno to accept the resignations of Amy Whitson, Lynn Hooks, Monte Regester, Karen Dickerson, Jenny McConathy, Tamara Bolden, and Melissa Blumer. The motion carried 6:0.

A motion was made by Bear Brown and seconded by Jeremiah Carnes to hire Levi Hawkins, Garrison O'Donnell, Mario Aguilar Jr., Michael Medcalf, Leanne Davis, Tabitha Morgan, Alicia Stewart, Leslie Luce, Sharon Palmer, and Kaela Brewington. The motion carried 6:0.

With no further business a motion was made by Paul Moreno and seconded by Eddie Paul Stanley to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried 6 to 0 and President Matt Strickland declared the meeting adjourned May 21, 2018, at 9:45 p.m.

Matt Strickland, President

Eddie Paul Stanley, Secretary