MINUTES OF THE SCHOOL BOARD REGULAR BOARD MEETING January 22, 2018 6:30 P.M.

The Grand Saline ISD Board of Trustees met in a regular meeting this date. Vice President Matt Strickland called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. stating that a quorum was present and the meeting had been duly called and posted in the time and manner required by law.

Board members present included Vice President Matt Strickland, Secretary Micah Lowe, Bear Brown, Jeremiah Carnes, Paul Moreno, and Eddie Paul Stanley. President Rodney Easley was absent.

The invocation was led by Micah Lewis followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

There were no comments from the public.

Recognition: Recipients of the Indian Award for January 2017, were Diep Nguyen from the Elementary School, Daniel Gatlin Intermediate School, Madison McCormick from the Middle School, and Lana Whitson from the High School. Superintendent Micah Lewis distributed certificates extending appreciation to school board members for their dedicated leadership in public education and service to the children of Grand Saline ISD. Many gifts were given to board members and a book was purchased by each school and placed in their respective libraries. The books are dedicated to the current Board for helping our students SOAR to Success at Grand Saline ISD.

Reports: (1) Financial by Laura Griffith; (2) Maintenance/Facilities by Micah Lewis, (3) Technology Report by Lance Caffey; (5) Superintendent's Report by Micah Lewis.

Consent agenda items: (1) Minutes of the December 11, 2017, regular board meeting (2) the financial report for December 2017, and (3) Order of trustee election for May 5, 2018, and give notice thereof, (4) Appoint Election Judge Edward Bailey and Alternate Election Judge Emile Clifford, (5) Appoint Cindy Gibson early voting clerk, Melissa Houser deputy early voting clerk, and Edward Bailey Judge to count the early votes. A motion was made by Eddie Paul Stanley and seconded by Bear Brown to approve the consent agenda items as presented. The motion carried 6 to 0.

Following a presentation by David Hopkins of Smith, Lambright & Associates, P.C. a motion was made by Jeremiah Carnes and seconded by Paul Moreno to approve the Audit Report for Fiscal Year Ending August 31, 2017. The motion carried 6:0

The second reading was held for TASB Board Policy Manual Update 109. A motion was made by Bear Brown and seconded by Jeremiah Carnes to add (LOCAL) policies as recommended by TASB Policy Services and according to the Instruction Sheet for TASB Localized Policy Manual Update 109. The motion carried 6:0. The Update policies approved are as follows: **BBE(LOCAL): BOARD MEMBERS – AUTHORITY** CDA(LOCAL): OTHER REVENUES - INVESTMENTS CKC(LOCAL): SAFETY PROGRAM/RISK MANAGEMENT – EMERGENTY PLANS CAN(LOCAL): TRANSPORTATION MANAGEMENT - STUDENT TRANSPORTATION CO(LOCAL): FOOD SERVICE MANAGEMENT DF(LOCAL): TERMINATION OF EMPLOYMENT DH(LOCAL): EMPLOYEE STANDARDS OF CONDUCT EHBAF(LOCAL): SPECIAL EDUCATION - VIDEO/AUDIO MONITORING EJ(LOCAL): ACADEMIC GUIDANCE PROGRAM FEA(LOCAL): ATTENDANCE - COMPULSORY ATTENDANCE FFAA(LOCAL: WELLNESS AND HEALTH SERVICES - PHYSICAL EXAMINATIONS FFF(LOCAL): STUDENT WELFARE - STUDENT SAFETY FFI(LOCAL): STUDENT WELFARE - FEEDOM FROM BULLYING GBAA(LOCAL): INFORMATION ACCESS - REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION GAK(LOCA): COMMUNITY RELATIONS - CONDUCT ON SCHOOL PREMISES GKC(LOCAL): COMMUNITY RELATIONS - VISITORS GKE(LOCAL): COMMUNITY RELATIONS - BUSINESS, CIVIC, AND YOUTH GROUPS

The board adjourned into executive session January 22, 2018, at 7:38 p.m.

The board reconvened into open session January 22, 2018, at 11:54 p.m.

A motion was made by Bear Brown and seconded by Micah Lowe to accept the resignation of Ronda McBride. The motion carried 6:0.

A motion was made by Micah Lowe to approve extending the superintendent's contract by one year. The motion was seconded by Bear Brown and carried 6:0.

With no further business a motion was made by Eddie Paul Stanley and seconded by Jeremiah Carnes to adjourn the meeting. The motion carried 6 to 0 and Vice President Matt Strickland declared the meeting adjourned January 22, 2018, at 11:58 p.m.

Matt Strickland, Vice President

Micah Lowe, Secretary